NEWS: Nominees for The Stage Awards 2019 include Almeida Theatre, Nottingham Playhouse & Sonia Friedman

In Awards, London theatre, Native, News, Press Releases, Regional theatre by Press ReleasesLeave a Comment

Top theatres across the UK, including nominees from London, Manchester, Nottingham, Wales and Scotland, have made the shortlist for The Stage Awards 2019.

Highlights include:

  • London Theatre of the Year shortlist includes the Almeida Theatre, Young Vic Theatre and Bush Theatre
  • Royal Exchange Theatre, Nottingham Playhouse and Theatr Clwyd announced as nominees for Regional Theatre of the Year
  • Harry Potter producer Sonia Friedman nominated for Producer of the Year, for critically-acclaimed productions including The Jungle, The Inheritance and Summer & Smoke
  • Other theatres recognised include the National TheatreRoyal Opera House, National Theatre of Scotland and Bristol Old Vic

The Young Vic Theatre, Almeida Theatre and Bush Theatre compete to be named London Theatre of the Year, following numerous critically-acclaimed productions at each venue including The Jungle and The Inheritance at the Young Vic Theatre, Summer & Smoke at the Almeida Theatre, and Misty at the Bush Theatre.

Nottingham Playhouse receives its first-ever nomination for Regional Theatre of the Year after recently staging a production of The Madness of King George III starring Mark Gatiss. It competes with the Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester and Theatr Clwyd, Mold, another first-time nominee, which recently announced a West End transfer for its co-production of Home, I’m Darling starring Katherine Parkinson.

Elsewhere in the shortlist, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child producer Sonia Friedman vies with Fiery Angel and Fuel for Producer of the Year. Sonia Friedman Productions previously won Producer of the Year 2015, 2016 and 2017.

Nominated for the Innovation Award, the Difference Engine is software which can be used by small-scale theatres to send subtitles or audio description to audience member’s phones. Other shortlisted nominees in the category include ProFile, established by the National Theatre and Spotlight, as well as the New Diorama Theatre for its new programming model supporting emerging artists.

Alistair Smith, editor of The Stage and chair of the judging panel, said: “In the year in which both the Manchester Theatre Awards and Wales Theatre Awards have announced their closures, I am proud that The Stage Awards continue to celebrate the achievements of performing arts organisations from across the UK – including organisations from both Manchester and Wales. Many congratulations to all the organisations shortlisted.

“Our Innovation Award shortlist demonstrates the fantastic ways that performing arts organisations are using creative practices to ensure theatre remains accessible to all: the Difference Engine by providing a cost-effective solution to subtitling performances, the New Diorama programming model by supporting emerging theatre companies and ProFile by giving a bigger platform to D/deaf and disabled actors.”

The Stage Awards are decided by The Stage’s senior editorial team, following extensive consultation with leading figures in the theatre industry and a public nomination process. The winners will be announced on 25 January 2019 at a ceremony at the Bridge Theatre, London.

Previous winners include: the National Theatre, Sonia Friedman Productions, Royal Exchange Theatre, Shakespeare’s Globe, Chichester Festival Theatre, Michael Grandage Company, National Youth Theatre, Sheffield Theatres, Arts Educational Schools, Matthew Bourne’s New Adventures and Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre.

The Stage Awards 2019 – Shortlist of nominees

Regional Theatre of the Year:

Nottingham Playhouse
Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester
Theatr Clwyd, Mold

London Theatre of the Year:

Almeida Theatre
Bush Theatre
Young Vic Theatre

Fringe Theatre of the Year:

Barn Theatre, Cirencester
Omnibus Theatre, London
Vault Festival, London

Theatre Building of the Year:

Battersea Arts Centre, London
Bristol Old Vic
Royal Opera House, London

Producer of the Year:

Fiery Angel
Sonia Friedman Productions

School of the Year:

Great Torrington School, Devon
Open Door, London and Birmingham
Young Lyric at the Lyric Hammersmith, London

International Award:

Hijinx Theatre, Cardiff
National Theatre Scotland, Glasgow
New International Encounter, Cambridge and Hvalstad

Innovation Award:

Talking Birds for The Difference Engine captioning software
New Diorama Theatre, London for its programming model
National Theatre and Spotlight for ProFile, a video casting database for D/deaf and disabled actors

Sustainability Award:

Julie’s Bicycle and Arts Council England for the Accelerator Programme
Lyric Hammersmith, London
National Theatre, London

The Unsung Hero Award:

There is no shortlist for this award. The winner will also be announced at the ceremony

Press Releases on Twitter
Press Releases
MyTheatreMates publishes a selection of daily press releases sent to us by publicists of the relevant show or theatre. We are not responsible for any inaccuracies contained within these materials.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Press Releases on Twitter
Press Releases
MyTheatreMates publishes a selection of daily press releases sent to us by publicists of the relevant show or theatre. We are not responsible for any inaccuracies contained within these materials.

Leave a Comment