NEWS: Royal Court announces new plays by Caryl Churchill, Lucy Kirkwood & EV Crowe

In London theatre, Native, News, Plays, Press Releases by Press ReleasesLeave a Comment

The Royal Court Theatre has announced the final productions in its season marking the 60th year of the English Stage Company. Highlights for the remainder of 2016 include two major premieres by EV Crowe and Lucy Kirkwood and a new short play by Caryl Churchill, whose Escaped Alone returns in 2017 ahead of a tour and New York transfer.

  • Final two shows in the Royal Court Theatre’s 60th year announced today: THE SEWING GROUP by E V Crowe directed by Stewart Laing in the Jerwood Theatre Upstairs, Thursday 10 November – Thursday 22 December 2016 and THE CHILDREN by Lucy Kirkwood directed by James Macdonald in the Jerwood Theatre Downstairs, Thursday 17 November 2016 – Saturday 14 January 2017.
  • Caryl Churchill returns with a new short play PIGS AND DOGS directed by Dominic Cooke in the Jerwood Theatre Downstairs, Wednesday 20 July – Saturday 30 July 2016.
  • OPEN COURT returns for three weeks of work, this time curated by Young Court with the keys to the building handed to the Youth Board and Young Writers aged 15 – 24 in association with the National Youth Theatre. Monday 18 July – Saturday 06 August 2016.
  • Year Two of the Royal Court’s residency in Tottenham culminates in a SUMMER FESTIVAL across sites throughout Tottenham to take place Friday 01 July – Sunday 17 July 2016.
  • Third PRIMETIME tour of plays written by children between the ages of eight and eleven to return to 13 primary schools in London boroughs before running in the Jerwood Theatre Upstairs, Thursday 21 July – Saturday 23 July 2016
  • Royal Court 60th anniversary gala THE BASH announced.
  • Previously announced HARROGATE by Al Smith directed by Richard Twyman is revived in the Jerwood Theatre Upstairs before a UK tour in partnership with HighTide and HOUSE, Thursday 20 October – Saturday 29 October.
  • A re-working of Tim Crouch’s ADLER AND GIBB which premiered at the Royal Court in 2014, will tour to Edinburgh and around the UK.

Highlights for the start of 2017 include:

  • Katherine Soper’s Bruntwood award-winning play WISH LIST, directed by Matthew Xia in the Jerwood Theatre Upstairs, Wednesday 10 January – Saturday 11 February 2017. A Royal Court Theatre and Royal Exchange Theatre Production.
  • ESCAPED ALONE by Caryl Churchill returns to the Jerwood Theatre Downstairs for a short run Wednesday 25 January – Saturday 11 February 2017 prior to a UK tour and appearing in New York.
Press Releases on Twitter
Press Releases
MyTheatreMates publishes a selection of daily press releases sent to us by publicists of the relevant show or theatre. We are not responsible for any inaccuracies contained within these materials.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Press Releases on Twitter
Press Releases
MyTheatreMates publishes a selection of daily press releases sent to us by publicists of the relevant show or theatre. We are not responsible for any inaccuracies contained within these materials.

Leave a Comment